Lifestyle of the UnRich and Not Famous

 

Today I am going to write to  myself so I can concentrate on what it is exactly that I will want to do to upgrade  my RV van at the end of the year. I must say up front, this is all contingent on my receiving a nice windfall that will make this lifestyle change all possible for me, its kind of a big IF and not the ONLY way for me to make it happen, but it will certainly help and well yeah, that.  Being that I am not independently wealthy, nor famous enough to make extra do-ri-me on my name, I will really be looking forward to this potential windfall, by the end of the year, God willing.

I’ve already blogged all about the type of Van I want, small,  about 19-20′ with good mileage, 15+,  and excellent mechanically, everything else can be upgraded. I do want the type that has the wet bath sitting North to South, rather than sticking out to the aisle way and that is not negotiable, and I want the rear bed style, that makes into a rather large bed. I do not want more than 2 seats up front, as I want the space to be utilized as my living space in my new tiny house. And I want to decorate in the Tiki sytle of designers who are truly terminally hip.

So what upgrades will I be paying a friend to do to my Van?  I want great hardwood flooring, or a distressed and dark hue. I would like any painting to be done on the the interior of a creamish or grey color. I would like to have storage installed on the inside of every cabinet door. I am working on a cool idea to line those doors with a decorative contact paper of the tiki variety before the storage is installed because those tikis can peak out at me when I open those doors and give me a giggle. That in a nutshell is my goofball sense of humour.  I’ll use lots of different patterns with a cohesive theme.

I won’t know exactly what size cabinets I will have so I cannot pre-make these, I will have to make a general collection of paper lining prior to installing them, and I would like to do the same with my drawers in the kitchen, my idea is whimsy and fun. Besides the new flooring and cabinet storage installation, I will want to add on any additional space for storage that I can configure, it will be a main goal of my renovation. Also I assume I will have lots of windows in the back, but I have an idea for a shelf system where the headboard would be, with hand carved rails in the front, that I will make using a Hawaiian theme.

20170505_083147

The rail in front of the shelf will hold items on the shelf and will be 4″ high, so that tall items are visible, like tiki mugs and all items are safe from capsizing while underway.  This example is something I sketched out from petroglyphs I saw online, a woman, the sun, mountains, foliage and waves are depicted here in tribal style. If I can manage to carve 3 of these rails, well I would really love that for over the bed. It will be similar to the headboard I have now but with many useful attributes.

I want to be able to do soemthing with the windows in the van for privacy and decorum but I am not sure yet what that will be, I also want a porcelain potty and a deep kitchen sink and nice counters in the food prep area. Those upgrades can be done with scrap pieces since the area will be so small, and perhaps I can find a small old farm sink for my kitchen. So every living space in the Van will have some unique upgrades and touches to make my new lifestyle in my Tiny Tiki House, my own.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

Leave a Reply

