Mad Cooking Skills

I stopped cooking when I married a fine dining chef, and so my skills are kind of rusty now, but I do love cooking a fantastic meal to enjoy and making it low carbohydrate, as that is how I am eating now, its an extra wrinkle that can only benefit me. Low carb is the way to go, for those who are diabetic and trying to control their numbers, which I am, also I hate shooting up insulin 4 or more times a day and if I can avoid that, well, we all win.

My favorite meals to cook and enjoy are still alot like the ones Mom cooked as I was growing up and as a young adult. I wanted to make a list of the dishes I enjoy the most so I won’t forget how easy they are to make and how delicious they taste,  so here goes:

Stuffed Mushooms – made with sausage, onions and a little cream cheese, broiled, yum.

Rameki – water chestnuts with bacon wrap, under broiler, another yum.

Crab cocktail – omg, my favorite part of Christmas dinner, sublime.

Vegetable omelet, with onions and asparagus a bit of cheese.

Beef Stroganoff – I like it over rice, with lots of onions and sour cream, 5 yums

Spaghetti – homemade with hamburger and lots of onion & garlic

Quiche – rich with eggs, cream, bacon, spinach, cheese, overthetopyums!!!

Flan – A crustless quiche made with the same ingredients as quiche, add bread tho

Roast vegetables – coat in olive oil and bake til golden

BBQ  really any kind of delish meat cooked to perfection, open flame

Kalbi Chicken or Ribs – great Korean eating with sesame oil marinade, a secret

Pies of every kind – Banana, pumpkin, lemon, chocolate cream the biggie is the crust

Pasties – a Cornish dish made w lots of pie crust & meat & potatoe filling, not lo carb

Funny little steaks –  Moms name for those steaks w the cut bones, she bbq’d them

Rice Krispie Chicken – omg Dredge pieces in butter then crushed cereal, bake 1 hr

Crepes – my all time fave are chicken and avocado with mornay sauce, not easy

Goulash – brown meat, add egg noodles, can corn, olives, tomaotes, cheese, kitchen sink

Roast turkey, chicken, beef – season, put in oven, watch til cooked, simple stuff & good

Candies – Mom made holiday candy, cookies, cakes to enth degree, Tina carries on trad

Fruitcake – the kind you love, w whiskey & kept in closet for 6 wks, so dang good

What are my absolute favorites, besides all of them? Oh golly, the candy, the rice krispie chicken is way up there, pumplin pie, especially the praline,  the quiche, crepes, I think I reeled in my last husband with those stuffed mushrooms tho, he still talks about that night.

I’m so glad I made this list, I have been meaning to for awhile, now when I need an idea of what to cook (hahaha) I can look at this list and find something I know I love. Heart shape.

4

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

Leave a Reply

