The Magpie

The yellow-billed magpie lives in the same area of central California as I do, so I see them often, they are sweet birds with a caw-caw language and some interesting habits.

During courtship the male woos the female by feeding her, this makes her fall in love with him. What men don’t know is like the little lady magpie, we very much enjoy being fed.
Then the soon-to-be parents build a large elaborate nest atop a tall limb that hangs 60′ above the ground, when the little magpies are born, both parents feed the babies and they raise the baby magpies together.

Today I caught sight of a pretty yellow-bill as he or she was out shopping for furniture. It was early this morning and I was on my way to work. I noticed a magpie swoop in and dramatically land in front of a furniture store a couple of miles from downtown. The distinctive bird looked up at the furniture store door impatiently, I was certain he could see the big 70% discount sign on the door. 70% off is no laughing matter.

I was stopped at a long light, on my way in on this crisp morning and I imagined being that bird, yes, a wee flight of fancy to keep my bored mind occupied for the three plus minutes of traffic light waiting time. Time I would never get back, time that is becoming a persistent nagging tic in my side, time wasted, time running out, time eluding me from what I really want to be doing today, any day.

I felt the pain of the magpie, waiting to pick out the perfect sofa for his chicks and baby mama, that wistful magpie wanting time to please hurry. “Caw!” he crowed at the closed door, open! Open! He looked wistful as my light finally changed and I rolled slowly away, my Volvo and me, wishing the best for the magpie, and myself today.

1

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

Leave a Reply

