Are you MY Champion ?

We all need a Champion, and they change as we go through our lives, as our needs change and as our needs and desires growth with us. Daddy was my Champion, when I was a little girl, he was super sized, super cool and could do anything. He was also aloof and funny at times and stood apart from my siblings and Mother and I. Daddy was only home for dinner on Sunday nights and we had to behave when he was home and keep quiet so he could sleep during the day, as he worked all night, every night of my childhood. His needs seemed superior to everyone elses in the family and we all doted on Daddy, he was special.

Music was probably my next Champion, I got a little blue transitor radio when I was nine for Christmas, one of the songs played on the top 40 list was The Lion Sleeps Tonight another was Broken Hearted Clown, I think that was the name of the song, that poor clown, tried to go off to the circus only to get his little heart broken. So I’m giving away my age here but music became everything to me, and when the Beatles landed well, I was a goner, Beatlemaniac of the first order, they became my Champions for certain.

My obsession and preoccupation with music never really waned but my first romantic love surpassed and my first husband at age 18 became my new champion, for 4 years we managed to uplift one another and on occasion save each other as well.

When I moved to Hawaii in 1981 the magic of the islands became a kind of champion for me. I immersed myself in the culture and beauty of the islands, I learned to hula and began the intricacies of Hawaiian quilting and learned ocean sports I had never tried before, snorkeling became my new normal. I married into a huge Big Island family and adopted our son and Hawaii became my home after livng there my entire adult life, I stayed until 2004. I consider myself a local haole. There is a spiritual essence to Hawaii, everyone should try to experience. I tend to return each year for a month or so, because I still love it so much. Hawaii remains my champion.

Other things have temporarily held my attention such as genealogy and completing the three books I have compiled of our family history and planning the 1998 reunion of the Hamrick family in Jackson, CA. Learning once again to play guitar and having the opportunity to play on stage was a dream fulfilled.

wp-1489353515525.jpg
Just a sweet night out when I got to sing with some generous musicians.

My newest champion is my desire, no my need, to take off across country on a solo adventure in an RV van. I spend my days and nights thinking about it, reading, planning and doing what I need to do to make this last big escape.

So why are these aspects of my life my Champions? Because these elements of my consciousness are the most important things in my life, they are elevated to championship status because they are what I am most passionate about today.

And the San Francisco Giants too, we do have three rings afterall !!

Go Giants!!!

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

4 thoughts on “Are you MY Champion ?”

Leave a Reply

