What is the Cusp ?

Methophorically a cusp  can be seen as a bridge between two points, for instance if someone is born on March 24, they are on the cusp of Pisces and Aries, which can make for a juxtaposition in ones personality to say the least, I know I was married to such a gentleman. Calm one second and not the next, is one characteristic of a person born on that astrological cusp.

I visually see a cusp as a long arching bridge like the ones Monsieur Claude Monet painted of his water lily garden is Giverney, France. That foot bridge accesses the far backside of his beloved  garden, where most people do walk, but not all. The gardens look different on that side because there is more light reflecting upon the lily’s and on the greenish blue water. That cusp of a bridge gives one a whole new view of the place most dear to Mr. Monet’s heart in his later years, where he shared his life with his mistress in their pink mansion overlooking the fruit and flower garden below.  I was so fortunate to visit Giverney, and tour the gardens and his home. I was in the extraordinary blue and white tiled kitchen and saw their old farm sink, I had to touch that white porcelain, I knew he’d washed his hands there, or cleaned up after painting. I walked right up and got a long, bold touch against that sink. I rubbed it and tried to feel his presence.

fb_img_1453092832095.jpg
An acrylic I did after going to Giverney.

Many artists are allowed access on special days on the property when the site is open for en plein painting, although I was not able to do that, I did paint a few versions of the water garden, this is one of my paintings. The bridge to the back side of that garden, that old wooden cusp makes it possible to get a whole of perspective on the place so important to many who enjoy the Impressionists work. Claude Monet is one of my favourites.

Cusp’s are like that, they can open possibilities never before considered or give one a totally different perspective.  Often called a turning point, a cusp can be a definitive switch to a new thought, idea or object as used in architecture, where a cusp is often a physical  point in the structure,  or even when defining a time frame, a cusp is the beginning or ending of a segment in time.

I always see a cusp as a bridge though, a place that meets another place because there needs to be a connection of some type not unlike a segue. Sometimes my thoughts evolve overtime, they sort of ripen and certainly have as I myself,  have ripened, they have morphed into a broader spectre of understanding or doubled back on themselves to reveal another angle, heretofor underrepresented.

When I keep an open mind, more is always revealed, on the cusp.

 

 

 

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing.

6 thoughts on “What is the Cusp ?”

    1. Thank you, we sat on the bench at the opposite end of the bridge and talked about whether the place or the paintings were more beautiful, it was actually transcendent in a way I had never experienced before, its one of my happy places, seeing it as Monet did is such a lovely thought.
      Merci~

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

