Am I Too Precious?

A really good question, I read on a vanlife blog today and its stuck in my head. Really, am I too precious?

I  do pamper myself sometimes, mainly in the way of wanting to feel comfortable and content and doing whatever is needed to feel mostly happy. For a melancholy person that is not always easy but I have reached an age that I fully acknowledge being happy and content is so much more pleasant than feeling blue, pissed off or discontent a majority of the time.

How did that switch happen? For a lot of reasons, primarily having to do with wanting a better, more fulfilled life. Desire is at the heart of choosing Happy, finding and doing things I enjoy is key, being with people I connect with and limiting others absolutely essential. Creating is life blood, getting plenty of rest, being of service to others who need help and making a long term plan for the rest of my life have all given me a tangible sense of purpose and that feels GOOD. That goal includes vanlife, buying my RVan as I like to call it, furnishing it in a way that is pleasant to me, and then taking off on my trip around North America. And going alone is key to my happiness. Is it risky? Not really. I plan to have adequate, legal protection and I’ll have a big dog with me too. My little beloved Darby is too sweet, old and blind to go on a big trip and she wouldn’t help in a crisis, no, I need a big dog that would actually protect me if someone came after me. So although some friends and family members are freaked out about my solo van trip from a safety perspective I will not be swayed. That’s not too precious. It’s being careful. 

People along for the ride? Sure its a possibility if someone close would want to fly to a city near me and join me for a week, yes thats foreseeable, the van will be small and only have one bed so that means the person would need to share the bed and my agenda for the most part, so we will see what happens there. Yes, that attitude could be perceived as somewhat precious, its just that I don’t care, this adventure is mine. I am not about to develop resentments because I am having to alter my time schedule, route or anything. Maybe being precious is not really such a bad thing, maybe having a goal, an intention is what is crucial. I’ll  think more about it and allow myself to sway with the tradewinds to become a tad more accomodating. 

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

Leave a Reply

