Tiki Fun & Madness

I am busy collecting all manner of tiki junk, I mean treasures, fabrics, mugs, images, signs and memorabilia from my dear departed friend Steve who was the grand collector of all things TIKI. His collection of Shag alone was noteworthy and his 200+ Aloha shirts were amazing. Most of his collection has been given out, at the time he passed so suddenly ,  I could not handle even seeing all his possessions, since he had often showed me them when they arrived by mail when I spent time at his house, usually enjoying a plate lunch of Teriyaki Chicken.

See Steve and I moved to Hawaii in 1981 and that adventure began, we’d been friends since childhood, gone all the way thru schools together, enjoyed many nights of dancing during th disco years at all the great gay bars and basically had such fun together every single time we could, it was a purely awesome friendship. He knew which tiki mugs to buy and which were worth lots of coconuts too.

So,  my new collection I am having a ball with,  gets its inspiration from my pal, and of course I am going to use it to decorate my RVan to the hilt. I can see it now, Tiki Bar top to bottom, with a nod to Maui with every item that makes the cut. I did acquiese eventually and accept some things I knew Steve would want me to have,  from his many beautiful treasures, and I am glad I did as that will make me think of him, each time I catch a little glimpse!

ALOHA!

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing.

Leave a Reply

