Music and Art and Singing, OH MY!

I was a young eight or nine year old child when I got my first real acknowledgement of a drawing I had done, I had worked very hard on a piece for my Nannie, who was very sick in the hospital and was going to have her actual heart valve replaced, so early in the advent of heart repair that it made the local newspaper in Sacramento. My little drawing was a pencil piece of a wagon wheel leaning on a farm fence with an old oak tree and a winding road into the horizon. I have always enjoyed landscapes and realistic art.  I brought it to Nannie’s bedside and watched her face light up with such wonder, I was hooked on creating art.

At an early age I sang in the school choir, not really confident of my voice but slowly learning to express myself, and at 12 I bought my first acoustic guitar at a drug store with my own money, I think it was ten bucks. I picked at the chords, took some lessons from Skip’s Music at Southgate,  and learned simple tunes and sometimes my younger siblings would let me play and sing for them, they said I could really sing and play, one of my  sisters, Janet,  also took up the guitar later and she still enjoys playing. By the time I was 16 I was hosting living rooms gatherings of my school friends, we played Dylan and Simon and Garfunkel and generally had a swell time. Mom let us explore the music safely and was gracious to let me have half a dozen young men in our house at one time.  Come to think of it, that was really tremendous of her.By the time I was 17, I was engaged to one of those friends and we later lived the hippie lifestyle, he was a wonderful guitarist, still is today, and today my first husband is transitioning to become a woman, I am very happy to be a part of her life and still love her with my whole heart.

I have continued to play music occasionally and get together with the same fellows, decades later, now that I am back on the Mainland, we try to play once a month. I played at Steve’s funeral a few years ago and have played some festivals and local clubs, just for fun. It was a dream to be able to do so, I’m not very good, but I am passionate and apparently that counts for something in this world. I have dabbled in other art forms also, needle arts, dramatic arts, and crafting projects. My Hawaii friend Tina and I hosted a cable access tv show for 13 episodes and did various projects for our 7 or 8 viewers, we didn’t care, we had a ball planning and doing the show. When I was a preschool teacher in Hawaii, everyday was a lesson in creating ideas to educate and entertain a dozen three year olds. The importance of creativity in my life is as crucial as breathing. I must paint, I must sing, I must create.

 

 

Author: Jillymaui - My Van Life Adventures

A hopeful solo RVan life traveling gal, enjoy the last decades of my life, I love wildlife, genealogy, SF Giants baseball, swimming, painting, guitar playing, singing, sightseeing, and writing in my Tiny Tiki Hale.

Leave a Reply

